euspen talent programme

National Heat Organisers
*NEW* 2021 Challenge
2020 Challenge

The euspen Talent Programme (formally known as the euspen Challenge) is an international competition to identify exceptional students with the potential to become future leaders in the field of precision engineering and nanotechnology.

Equipping students with skills of international team building, leadership training and interpersonal development, euspen harnesses values of::

  • CONNECTING: inspiring and encouraging development in others
  • NETWORKING: building strong relationships and
  • LEADERSHIP: through mentoring and cultivating co-participants

Do you have talent for problem solving, time management and team building?
Could you share your skills, knowledge and experience at our international conference?

The “LEGO” Challenge:

Stage 1 – each team will be asked to develop a solution to our ‘virtual challenge’. The Challenge for 2021 is to design methodologies for process performance characterization while complying with product quality for validation and verification of polymer powder bed fusion manufacturing. The virtual challenge addresses LEGO System A/S needs for innovation in its operations.

Stage 2 – the top three teams from the ‘virtual challenge’ will be allowed to further develop the proposed solution before a final DEMO presentation at LEGO at the beginning of October. A bursary will be awarded to contribute towards travel, accommodation and subsistence. Additionally, a euspen scholarship will be awarded to provide complementary access to our 2021 International Conference and Exhibition.

Stage 3 – each team is expected to present their final solution in a short video at euspen’s International Conference and Exhibition on precision engineering and nanotechnology.


euspen‘s 21st International Conference & Exhibition takes place from Monday 7th to Friday 11th June 2021.  Students in stage one will be provided with complementary access to this event. 

Successful students selected for the second stage will be expected to come to LEGO.  These students will be eligible to receive a bursary contributing towards their travel, accommodation and subsistence costs. Students must be available in early October (precise dates to be confirmed). 

Who can enter?

  • MSc and PhD students from across Europe
  • Students studying within the disciplines of engineering, science or mathematics
  • Individuals who have not previously participated in the euspen Challenge final
  • Hold student membership* with euspen
*Student membership is free.  Email

What do I do?

Find your national heat organiser details by clicking on your country flag.

  • Tell them you would like to enter the student competition
  • Enclose your CV based on the EU-template with particular attention to: A personal motivational statement indicating:
    how will I benefit from participation in the event and how will my participation benefit the event?
  • Include a statement from your supervisor or professor, supporting your entry

Europass CV Template >>>

If your country flag does not have a representative currently, please email your interest to


Coming soon


Prof. Dominiek Reynaerts


Prof. Dr. Sasa Zelenika

Czech Republic

Dr Otakar Horejs


Dr Matteo Calaon


Coming soon


Dr. Helene Mainaud Durand


Dr Oltmann Riemer


Prof. Enrico Savio


Coming soon


Prof. Just Herder


Coming soon


Coming soon


Coming soon


Mr Sabino Azcarate

Prof. Jose A. Yagüe-Fabra


Dr Andreas Archenti


Dr Sascha Weikert


Prof. Liam Blunt


Coming soon


Coming soon


Prof. Satoru Takahashi

Dr. Kazutoshi Katahira

National Heat Organisers

With special thanks to the following national heat organisers:

  • Belgium – Prof. Dominiek Reynaerts & Prof Han Hatjema, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, BE
  • Croatia – Prof. Dr. Sasa Zelenika & Ervin Kamenar, University of Rijeka, HR
  • Czech Republic – Dr Otakar Horejš, Czech Technical University, CZ
  • Denmark – Prof. Hans Nørgaard Hansen & Dr Matteo Calaon, Technical University of Denmark, DK
  • France – Dr Helene Mainaud Durand, CERN, CH
  • Germany – Dr Oltmann Reimer, LFM, Bremen, DE
  • Italy – Prof. Enrico Savio & Dr Simone Carmignato, DIMEG – Università di Padova, IT
  • Spain – Prof. Jose A. Yagüe-Fabra, University of Zaragoza, ES
  • Sweden – Dr Andreas Archenti, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden, SE
  • UK – Prof. Liam Blunt & Prof. Richard Leach , University of Huddersfield; University of Nottingham, UK
  • ASPE Representatives – Brian O’Connor, Stuart Smith, Luis Aguirre, USA
  • JSPE Representatives – Prof. Satoru Takahashi, Dr Kazutoshi Katahira, JP